Marilag Lubag's Blog

Don’t Mess with My Plans | March 15, 2016

Sometimes, listening to other people how to do your craft would cause whatever plans you have to get derailed. Though they could offer invaluable advice, you have to see for yourself if what they’re telling you is something that would help you with your goal instead of going opposite what you want. Often, I would have an idea, only to have it changed because some people would see one aspect of it that’s not a factor for my decision. However, they’re not accounting for what I would consider to be very important at all.

An example would be me trying to make a blanket for my friend. I had the idea to make it lacy because I don’t have enough time. Then my grandma and my mom told me that it has a lot of holes and would not warm people up. I consider what they’re saying so I had to unravel my yarn and start over again. It’s a good thing that I had done it at the beginning of the project.

Later, my mom saw my blanket. She said to just buy my friend a gift because according to her, I don’t have time. That’s when I had to put my foot down. I told her that I let her talk me into changing my plans to begin with.

I’m not blaming my mom. I like creating my own design instead of using some pattern. Still, I was the one that had that vision. They couldn’t see what I see when I make that project. When I let people tell me what I should do, they often don’t factor how long it’s going to take me to do it. They just look at what they think looks good without even considering everything I was trying to accomplish. That’s why it’s sometimes better not to share my vision in the beginning. They’re going to derail your plans.

It’s better to show them what I did afterwards, when it’s all done. That way, they could see what you want them to see and they won’t have a hand in your creative process. After all, they can’t tell me I’m making a big mistake when something had already been completed. It’s better to show people the finished product, get their opinions afterwards, and then incorporate their opinions on the revision of my work. It doesn’t mean that it’s bad to take advice from other people. However, we need to be clear of what we want or other people would take that from me.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Archives

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 31 other followers

    Categories

