Marilag Lubag's Blog

The Best Ideas | March 7, 2016

The best ideas are the simple ones. They are easy to execute and easy to follow up on. In addition, they require the less energy. The less complicated the idea, the more successful they can be.

Sometimes, people get so caught up in the moment that they would come up with a lot of complex ideas. However, their skills are not on par with what was on their mind. When it’s time for execution, it can cause disappointment because what was on their mind was clearly not what was seen on reality.

When I was eight or nine years old, I wanted to learn how to embroider. So, I decided to practice on one of my maroon handkerchiefs. Looking back, I think it’s a bad idea as the fabric already has an ornate design. Still, I was trying to make a really ornate design of an angel. I hand sewn white thread on maroon fabric. It looked like a child had done it. My stitches were very crooked and there were large gaps. My execution was expected—I was a child back then and this was my first embroidery project.

I should’ve started with daisies. Or even letters. It’s still going to look awful but it’s easier to execute. It’s a lot simpler than starting with an angel when my skill isn’t up to that level yet. Now, I could actually create more ornate designs. That angel would look better now if I did it today.

Simple ideas are not boring. The simplest ideas would look exceptional in the hands of the master. In fact, it showcases the skills of the master. A lot of people had complimented me with this particular scarf that I crocheted. They said that it looks simple but it’s beautiful. Same goes with my broomstick lace beanie. Both are very simple projects but they showcase my skill—something that I had been perfecting for 20 years.

We don’t need complex ideas in order to create something beautiful. Simple ones would do.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Archives

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 30 other followers

    Categories

