Marilag Lubag's Blog

The Double-Edged Sword | March 2, 2016

Sometimes, it’s easier to learn the craft when we’re with a lot of like-minded people. At the same time, it’s easy to feel insecure. If someone could do what you’re doing ten times better, it would make you feel insecure no matter how self-confident you are. Nevertheless, I find it easier to learn when I’m with people who are good at what they do. It makes me want to strive harder to learn just to keep up. Despite my insecurities, I’m better for it.

For example, when I was in grade school, I wrote some poems that got published in the school newspaper. In high school, I joined the school newspaper. While I’m average at what I did (I didn’t win any contest), I still learned how to do things better because of the education I got from my teacher. I’m a good poet but even then, I had to admit that there are others who are better writer than me.

On the other hand, it causes me to feel insecure at my classmates—they were better writers. Still, I write and improve in my own pace, even if I’m not as good as they are. Eventually, things even out. Some people had stopped writing. Others are now writing for a living. We improve in our own pace. Our growth depends largely on whether we want to write or not and how much practice we’re having. We shouldn’t feel insecure if people are better than us.

People that are better than us in our respective crafts should inspire us rather than hinder us. If we can see the good side of working with other people, we would be able to have new ideas to incorporate in our craft. On the other hand, if we let our insecurities to get the better of us, it would hinder our progress.

When we’re around other people who are good in our chosen craft, it’s easy to feel insecure. However, we need to let go of our insecurities so that we can become the best artist we can be. It’s time to do our best and let others inspire us instead of letting our insecurities get the best of us.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Archives

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 31 other followers

    Categories

