Marilag Lubag's Blog

To Be a Professional | February 25, 2016

It doesn’t take a genius to understand that we need to invest a lot if we are to develop our craft. It’s not easy to do what we want we don’t have the skillset to do it. It’s like not having the right tools for what we wanted to do.

We need to invest time and money in order to learn our craft. I had countless of crochet magazines and books—instructions that would show me how to do certain things such as Broomstick lace, Bruges lace, and fillet crochet. I take my time to practice so that I am able to do what I want in terms of such techniques. I start with simple projects first. Later on, I develop a more complex items—something that can be reflected with my improved skillset.

If you are serious about your craft, you need to do similar things. You need to practice such skill set and invest in books, lessons, and practice. Otherwise, you would not improve in terms of your medium. The goal is to be a better artist. It’s okay to produce work in subpar quality if you’re just starting. However, you should produce better work in the subsequent projects. After all, the more you practice, the better you get.

It takes time to develop our skills in order to succeed. Still, we often get impatient with the results. Real professional artists takes time to develop. They often start as terrible artists but with constant practice, they become masters. As a child, my crochet practice were too tight and curl. I’m able to follow a pattern but I would always wonder why they don’t measure the way it was specified. Later on, I realized that I’m not following the gauge.

I am able to create better items two years later. With constant practice, I am able to do double crochet evenly. Soon, I’m able to teach my classmates how it should be done. At this moment, I’m trying to decide whether or not to get a certificate of being a master in crochet. For now, I’m practicing my skills.

Being a competitive professional artist requires an investment of time and money. It’s like being a professional in some other fields. To become competitive at something, we need to push ourselves in order to learn the basics. It takes a decade to become a doctor. Similarly, it takes a lot of time and practice to become a competitive in our crafts. I don’t expect a beginner in crochet to produce the same materials I am able to produce overnight. It took me years of practice to master my skill. For that matter, don’t expect yourself to write with the same quality as that of J.K. Rowling or that of Stephen King if you just started writing. They had been writing since they were children while you just started very recently.

Take your time to learn your particular craft. If they’re not looking the way you want, keep practicing. The people you consider were good at their craft had put on more hours. Similarly, you need time in order to catch up.

What have you done to improve your skillset?

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Archives

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 30 other followers

    Categories

