Marilag Lubag's Blog

Making a Blanket | February 10, 2016

It took me forever to make my first blanket. After all, I’m the type that would get fits of inspiration only to lose interest later on. It was always my dream to make an afghan but I’m always intimidated by it. Still, I’m determined to finish one even though I didn’t have a lot of time. With this desire, I decided that I would spend five minutes crocheting everyday. I had a pattern to follow, using a specific hook and a particular yarn.

I crocheted for five minutes everyday. Usually, I wanted to do it longer but I only give myself five minutes a day. It took me at least two years but I was finally able to finish it. After that, the second one came a lot easier. I’m trying to make another one although this one is more daunting than the first. I decided to make a blanket out of Tunisian crochet in order to learn it.

Creating a blanket is a lot like writing a novel. I had done both although my novel was never published. Each was a herculean task—one that requires a lot of commitment and a lot of perseverance. There are many times when I wanted to stop what I was doing but kept on moving forward that until I had finished my project. That being said, there were creative works that require a lot of stamina. Someone who plans to do either needs to have a plan on how to tackle the project. My plan was to spend a little amount of time everyday crocheting and about an hour a day trying to write a novel.

It takes perseverance and stamina to finish a long term project. However, if you are consistent at making progress, even if it is five minutes a day everyday, eventually you would finish it.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Archives

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 31 other followers

    Categories

