Marilag Lubag's Blog

Finishing | February 2, 2016

What was on an artist’s mind never translates well on the said artist’s medium. Nevertheless, it was better if he or she keeps on working on his or her craft even if their creation falls short of his or her expectations.

Everything I learned about finishing and creating something unique, I learned from practicing crochet. From creating a project that stands out to actually finishing an object, I learned by using a hook and a ton of yarn.

I am good at crochet. If you ever see me crocheting, you would see that my stitches were even. My rounds were really round—they don’t curve unless I want them to. The flat fabrics were even as well. You won’t see my fabric produce a scraggly edge. It was flat and even if I raise it up.

And yet, I could never seem to finish a project. There were plenty of unfinished projects in my room—unfinished yarn projects where I keep on changing my mind and then redoing them the way I wanted them to be and then unravel the yarn to start at another project again.

I learned that my tendency to undo my creation was because of my desire with perfection. If I didn’t like the project, I would unravel it and start over again. This time, to create something entirely new. I try to grasp all the ideas in my head, often, things look way better in my head than when I execute them. I was so ashamed at what I did that I had no choice but to unravel my yarn and start over again.

When I realized this, I told myself that I would finish what I wanted to create—even if they don’t turn out well. Whether it’s having gaps on my scarf, or the fabric did not have the right color, I would keep on working on it even though it didn’t turn out to be as good as I hoped. Since I had implemented that idea, I had finished a lot more things. Most of them turned out okay even though they have flaws.

It turned out that actually finishing the project did teach me more than my usual unravel and redo. It taught me how the yarn actually behaves if I try to do things a certain way. Of course, I had learned that I could adjust things while working on my project along the way. It wasn’t as bad if I only unraveled three rows instead of 100. My work is still a disappointment but at least I managed to finish it.

Even when flawed, a work that one actually created is better than the one that never materialized. After all, the particular work that one has actually exists. If a person keeps working on their craft, he or she would improve that one day, what was on his or her mind would translate well on their medium even if it fell short of his or her expectations. He or she would create better stories, better artwork, better sculpture, etc. His or her visions would match what they bring forth to the world.

 

Related Posts:

Quality vs. Quantiity

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Archives

    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 30 other followers

    Categories

